Tags

, ,

Some times there is a moment in time when the world and everything in it makes sense, when clarity of vision meets the broader reality and that thing that you struggle and fight with suddenly becomes easier. Some athletes call it “being in the zone” that perfect moment (or game) when you can do no wrong and every three pointer hits nothing but net. I’ve been in the zone twice in my life, once while serving un-returnable volleyballs during a playoff game for the county championships, and again playing 8 ball pool when I ran the table after drinking three beers. Later I was convinced that it was the beer, although I wasn’t sure how many were actually required.

We often try to replicate these moments; thinking that if I wear the same socks, or sit in the same place, or squint just so, I can have that feeling again. But it seldom strikes twice in the same way. You can’t look for it. It has to find you. You’re usually washing dishes, or soaking in the bath tub, or driving to work when it happens, which is also where you frantically realize that “oh shit! I have to write this down before I forget.”

The ah hah moment for me is when all the pieces come together interlock and present an image, like a jig-saw puzzle. If I’m lucky it’s a 3D illuminated Thomas Kinkade (surely produced by a hired gun painter, not Kinkade himself) and not a 2D Picasso where I have to think too hard about what the image is, and what it means to me, or how it makes me feel.

Some times I just want to “forget the labor pains, and give me the baby” but it doesn’t work like that does it? Anything worth learning or experiencing usually requires effort, and the more in the zone you get, or the clearer the picture, the more effort it takes to get there.

What I’m looking for is an epiphany; the epiphany that comes with hard work and 7+ chapters of logic homework.

e·piph·a·ny

[ih-pif-uh-nee] noun, plural e·piph·a·nies.

1.( initial capital letter ) a Christian festival, observed on January 6, commemorating the manifestation of Christ to the gentiles in the persons of the Magi; Twelfth-day.
2. an appearance or manifestation, especially of a deity.
3. a sudden, intuitive perception of or insight into the reality or essential meaning of something, usually initiated by some simple, homely, or commonplace occurrence or experience.
4. a literary work or section of a work presenting, usually symbolically, such a moment of revelation and insight.
Not of the #1 or #2 variety either. I don’t want to go to church or have an experience with god, of course if the latter happens I’ll let you know. Please don’t hold your breath.
No. I need a healthy dose of #3, and I’d like it now please.
Hmm, well that didn’t work. Guess I’ll resort to the tried and true method (and stop procrastinating). Read, re-read and take notes, read again.
