Tags

, ,

Writing momentum, in its simplest terms, has initially been a force that needed to be overcome. With impetus it becomes a directional movement of mass with varying degrees of speed. Ideally as the mass and speed increase the more momentum is created. I know a physics major will blow my definition out the window with terms that I can barely wrap my head around. But in terms of creating momentum in writing or any creative endeavor I think I’m not so off the mark.

So how does one create momentum? The writers mass must be the writing itself, the words on paper, the 0’s and 1’s in code, the bulk of a body of work. Not merely words on paper, but symbolic reasoning that contains all of the components of a really good piece of art. Cohesiveness, plot, emotion, character, are all elements, but that’s not the whole answer.

I was told recently that a writer must have an inherent gift with words. Many things like grammar and punctuation can be taught but the spark must pre-exist for the gift to come to fruition. I think this is true. One is either teachable, or not. As for whether or not I have that spark, that’s not a judgment call that I’m going to make. I’m not that arrogant. I’ll leave that up to the critics when the time comes.

What then is the speed? I think it’s that push that begins the ball rolling and keeps pushing the writer to continue. Some days it’s a dung beetle pushing up hill. Other days words fall like an avalanche. With enough repetition, the cumulative effort is what constitutes speed. Speed is feeding an addiction, the drive to write the story of the day, or a new blog entry. Speed is the writers desire to get the words down in print so that they can be manipulated into the image in the writers mind.

So where does the reader come in to the equation? Do they? Why bother reading anything except for your own pleasure? Isn’t that why we read? For our own pleasure, for the information gained, for a connection to a distant mind, place or time, or a fresh perspective that you’d not considered yet. Isn’t that why you’re here?

Why do I need you dear reader? My first impulse is because I want your feedback. I want your unvarnished opinion. If I were to be completely honest I would say that there are teachable moments when you read something for the first time, and those are the things that I want to learn from you.  If this is a good blog, how can I make it great?

